Get Back Behind the Wheel: License. . .
Get Back Behind the Wheel:
By Jessica Travis on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
From the congested lanes of I4 to the busy roads of downtown Orlando, Central Florida roadways are filled with drivers from all across the country. Because of the commuter traffic that often crowd these roadways, Florida driving laws are strict. In the Sunshine State, an individual must possess a valid driver’s license issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to legally drive a car. However, many individuals lose their driving rights when their license becomes revoked or suspended by the DMV. Because of the revocation, an individual may end up being busted for driving with a suspended license, an offense which is punishable up to sixty day in jail.
There are several reasons a license can become suspended in Florida. Some of these reasons are related to specific driving violations, such as being caught for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics. Being arrested and convicted for driving under the influence (DUI) can has severe consequences to one’s driving rights. If an individual is convicted of a DUI for the first time, their license can be revoked for up to one year. Although the individual can apply for a hardship
license, which allows them to drive only to and from work, they must apply for it through the DMV, take required drug and alcohol courses, and pay an administrative cost. Any subsequent DUI convictions have tougher penalties that includes time in jail and longer license suspensions.
Getting too many points on one’s license due to traffic tickets and driving infractions is also a common way that a license can become suspended. If an individual racks up twelve points on their license within a year, their license may be automatically suspended for thirty days. If a person accumulates eighteen points in an eighteen month timeframe, they can lose their driving privileges for a year. If an individual is worried about having points on their license, they may want to seek representation from an attorney experienced in traffic court. An attorney may be able to help keep points off of a driving record.
Also, under Florida law, a license can become suspended if the driver has inadequate vehicular insurance. In Florida, a person must have a minimum cover of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and
$10,000 property damage liability (PDL) insurance. Along with these reasons in which a license can become suspended, there is a long list of circumstances that cause license suspensions. Some of these reasons include but are not limited to, fleeing from the scene of a motor vehicle accident, unpaid parking tickets, reckless driving offenses, and failure to comply with traffic summons, fines, or court orders.
Even though a license can easily be suspended by the DMV, it is often tough to have the license reinstated so the individual can again legally operate a motor vehicle in the state. The punishments for driving on a revoked or suspended license are serious. Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a second degree misdemeanor, which is punished by up to sixty days in jail and/or up to $500 dollar fine. Being
caught driving with a suspended or revoked license three or more times is classified as a felony offense, carrying up to a five year prison sentence and/or up to a $5,000 dollar fine.
The process to reinstate a license can be tedious and complicated, costing a lot of time, money, and headaches. With the complicated process of getting back a valid license and the strict punishment of not doing so entails, license revocations and reinstatements should be taken seriously. Therefore, if you are dealing with a license suspension issue, it is important to contact an attorney who is knowledgeable in the area of traffic offenses and driver’s licensing issues. With the help of a qualified attorney, you can work towards obtaining a valid driver’s license and getting back behind the wheel.